You are currently browsing the monthly archive for February 2010.

A big thank you to everyone who has taken the time to read my blog this week.I’m really enjoying it!

I finished Jane Costello’s MY SINGLE FRIEND yesterday – absolutely brilliant! I think it’s the first time I’ve cried during one of her books – the characterisation was just so spot on, you couldn’t help but become involved in the characters and their choice. Why are you not reviewing this title I hear you say? Well, it’s a tricky one as I work for the publishing house who publishes Jane Costello so it’s a bit of a conflict of interests. For now, I plan to not review books published by my place of work, but I will mention them from time to time especially if I particularly enjoyed the book. How does that sound? Or would you prefer me to simply steer clear of any work titles? Any and all feedback on this subject is hugely appreciated as I don’t want to step on any book blogger faux pas’ – look at me with my fancy faux pas – LOL!!

I’m now reading Lisa Jewell’s THE TRUTH ABOUT MELODY BROWNE and I’m really enjoying it. It’s been a while since I’ve read any of her books and I find a writing style easy to get sucked into. Give me a few more days and I should have a full review for you.

Also: this week, I’ll be posting a couple of book chat entries, including my March wishlist and my top 10 non-vampire YA books!! So keep your eyes peeled for those!

girly scribbles

STILL THINKING OF YOU – ADELE PARKS

SYNOPSIS

New love, old friendships and a question of fidelity.

Tash and Rich are newly engaged and wild about each other. They can’t wait to celebrate their wedding with their closest friends, all of whom have known each other since university, where they enjoyed a hedonistic whirl of parties, popularity, sex and success.

But is fun really as easy-come-easy-go in your thirties as it was in your twenties? How do relationships change once you leave college and have to cope with real life? And what if the love of that life were to reappear now?

As old, long buried passions are reawakened, the group realise that a lot can change in twelve years. And a lot can happen in seven days…

REVIEW

Out of all of Adele Parks’ books this is my favourite (with Husbands coming in a very close second). Still thinking of You is about a group of friends who have known each other forever, but when they head off on a pre-wedding trip to France, they find that everyone has something that they are hiding. It’s a tried and tested formula… take the characters out of their comfort zones, put them somewhere that they can not run away, wind them up and watch the drama unfold. Adele goes this particularly well with this group of characters, making you like each of them in their own way as the story develops. What I especially enjoyed was how the theme of regret shone through in all of the characters. The road not taken is something that everyone can relate to and the unique transition that happens in your twenties as you move from a young adult into full on grown up, was woven into each of the plot lines of STILL THINKING OF YOU with a bitter sweet edge that left you pondering your own experiences.

This book is funny and romantic, with plot twists that will leave you audibly gasping on the train as you manically turn the page to find out what happens next.
Great for fans of Jane Green’s Mr. Maybe and Wendy Holden’s Wives of Bath

Well, everyone has had their say on this series, so I figure that I might as well have a pop at it as well 🙂

BREAKING DAWN – Stephenie Meyer

SYNOPSIS

To be irrevocably in love with a vampire is both fantasy and nightmare woven into a dangerously heightened reality for Bella Swan. Pulled in one direction by her intense passion for Edward Cullen, and in another by her profound connection to werewolf Jacob Black, she has endured a tumultuous year of temptation, loss and strife to reach the ultimate turning point. Her imminent choice to either join the dark but seductive world of immortals or pursue a fully human life has become the thread from which the fate of two tribes hangs. Now that Bella has made her decision, a startling chain of unprecedented events is about to unfold with potentially devastating and unfathomable consequences. Just when the frayed strands of Bella’s life – first discovered in Twilight, then scattered and torn in New Moon and Eclipse – seem ready to heal and knit together, could they be destroyed…forever?

REVIEW

Having read the previous three books in the series, I was really looking forward to reading this. Unfortunately… it left a bad taste in my mouth. This review contains many, many spoilers as it was impossible to share my thoughts without revealing the plot.

The series as a whole has had it’s ups and downs. Twilight had introduced the characters well, New Moon confirmed to me than I was going to read the whole series, but it was Eclipse that was by far my favourite of the series.

What I loved about Eclipse was exactly what was missing from Breaking Dawn. The other Cullens’ melted into the background (much of this was obviously caused by taking both Alice and Jasper out of the book for a huge portion), and considering they are what was interesting and enthralling about the previous three books – it seemed insane to me, to brush them aside.

The final battle – the battle which had bought all the vampires and wolves together, the battle which they had trained for and feared… was a huge anti-climax. It didn’t seem like the finale the series deserved. It needed to be epic, the battle needed to happen, and there needed to be loss on both sides. Instead. They talked and then each side when its own way. It just seemed senseless. When they had walked away from the Volturi in New Moon, it had made sense… it drove the story forward. This time however, their meeting with the Volturi turned into needless filler.

Clearly, I didn’t enjoy this book, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy aspects of it. I loved that Meyer wrote from Jacob’s POV, and I felt I was with Bella as she jumped across the river, and the traumatic birth of Nessie followed by Bella’s turning made for some intense reading. It was interesting to know more about Leah and I would have loved Meyer to have explore that thread of the story more. My issues with this book were all plot-based, the writing while maybe not the most literary, it did draw the reader in and Stephenie has created a world that has capitivated me since I read the first few pages of Twilight.

The series as a whole would have worked better if they had perhaps focused more on the relationship between the vampires and wolves, as in my mind, that’s what the books were about. I always imagined the final battle would be vampire vs. wolf with Bella stuck in the middle.

So, in conclusion, Breaking Dawn was a disappointing end to an enthralling series. It asked more new questions, rather than answering the existing ones, and the ending felt incredibly anti-climatic for such a series of books.

A little q&a about my reading habits…

Do you remember how you developed a love of reading?
I always enjoyed reading as a child, but it was when I began working in a bookshop when I was 17 that I became a total bookworm 🙂

What are some books you loved as a child?
I loved the My Naughty Little Sister stories, the Faraway Tree, and Princess Smartypants!!

What is your favorite genre?
I read mainly chick lit, sci-fi/fantasy and young adult titles.

Do you have a favorite book?
Hmmm… the only book I have re-read more than twice is Emma by Jane Austen, so I guess that would be my favourite.

Where do you usually read?
On the train – my commute is hellish, but the plus side is I have a lot of time to read. It’s only when I’m really involved in a book do I read it on the couch in the evenings.  I also have an e-reader now, which is great for just having in my bag when I’m out and about.

When do you usually read?
during my commute, before bed and at the weekends.

Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?
Sometimes… it depends if I’ve left my current book at work or not!

Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?
I rarely read non-fiction, but when I do I read it in the same way

Do you keep most of the books you buy?
No, I keep non-fiction (mainly cookery books), but I like to pass fiction onto others.

If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them?
I specialised in Children’s books at the bookstore so the list of books I’d like to share will be very, very long lol! But Picture Books that I have fallen in love with whilst at the bookshop – The Gruffalo, Aliens love Underpants, We’re going on a bear hunt, Commotion in the Ocean and the tiger that came to tea.

What are you reading now?

My Single Friend – Jane Costello

Do you keep a To Be Read list?
I will be putting together a Wishlist on my blog

What’s next?
The sequel to Lisa Jewell’s Ralph’s Party – After the Party… after that something with werewolves methinks!

What books would you like to reread?
I tend not to re-read

Who are your favorite authors?
Lots!! Here’s a list in no particular order; JK Rowling, Stephenie Meyer, Jane Green, Adele Parks, Jane Austen, Dan Rhodes, Andrew Kaufman, Daniel Waters, Christopher Paolini, Trudi Canavan, Jennifer Weiner and Arthur Nersesian.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categories

GoodReads

Girly Scribbles's bookshelf: read

My Single FriendBreaking DawnStill Thinking of YouBetrayedMarkedThe Truth About Melody Browne

More of Girly Scribbles's books »
Girly Scribbles's  book recommendations, reviews, favorite quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists

Twitter

Book Blog Directory