FOURSOME – JANE FALLON

Rebecca, Daniel, Alex and Isabel have been best friends since university. Rebecca married Daniel, Alex married Isabel and, for twenty years, they have been inseparable. But all that is about to change…When Alex walks out on Isabel, Rebecca thinks things can’t get any worse. But then she finds out the reason why and she’s left harbouring a secret she’d rather forget…And there’s more upheaval to come in Rebecca’s life as her emaciated, neurotic, self-obsessed colleague, Lorna – her arch nemesis at work – suddenly becomes a regular feature in her social life. Rebecca’s once-happy foursome is now a distant memory and with hearts broken and friendships fractured, it seems that change is never a good thing. Or is it?

FOURSOME begins a while after Alex has walked out on Isabel, planting us right into the middle of the action as the drama between these once close friends unfolds. The story is told from the point of view of Rebecca and initially, I thought that she was a surprising choice as I would have expected it to be Isabel, now alone with two children after her husband had walked out on her. So to have the best friend taking the lead seemed a little strange to me, but it worked beautifully as it allowed both the author and reader to explore other aspects of the story without the main focus being the recovery of a scorned woman. Plus, I must say that I really liked Rebecca. She was flawed and made mistakes, but that just made her more real to me and a far more interesting character to guide us through the novel.

The men in the story didn’t appeal to me, with each of them being painted in a bad light bar Daniel who didn’t really get enough ‘page time’ for me to form too much of an opinion on him. But this didn’t matter as this is really and truly a book about women and their relationships with each other.

What the synopsis above doesn’t really cover is the sub-plot which had me laughing out loud and cheering the characters on from my sofa. The sub-plot revolves around Rebecca’s office life at a talent agency and her interactions with both her colleagues and clients, and is written fantastically by the author and I felt I had had a true insight into that world having read the book.

A great read that I devoured in two sittings. I would definitely recommend this book to fans of Jane Costello (for how both Costello and Fallon write work life) and Adele Parks.

Four stars

