‘I can imagine you at forty,’ she said, a hint of malice in her voice. ‘I can picture it right now.’

He smiled without opening his eyes. ‘Go on then.’

15th July 1988. Emma and Dexter meet for the first time on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways.

So where will they be on this one day next year?

And the year after that? And every year that follows?

Twenty years, two people, ONE DAY. From the author of the massive bestseller STARTER FOR TEN.

I’ve read two of David Nicholls’ novels before – STARTER FOR TEN and THE UNDERSTUDY – so I knew what I would be getting. His dry wit, those cringe-worthy situations that his characters land themselves in, and of course his detailed way of setting the scene so that you feel you’ve visited the University Challenge set or the backstage of a theatre yourself. I knew I was in for a good read with ONE DAY. I just honestly didn’t realised just how much this book would move me.

We meet Dexter and Emma during their first meeting on the night of their graduation, and then the chapters in the book re-introduce us to them on the same day (15th July) every year after that for the next twenty years. How have their lives changed within that year? Have they managed to stay in touch? When are they going to realise that they are the loves of each other’s lives? We see them go through good and bad jobs, relationships, family problems and addiction – all through this one day window.

David Nicholls writes from both Ems and Dexter’s point of view, and he writes both beautifully. He weaves their twenty year relationship, from the nervous start to best friends to… (well that would be telling!) so naturally that you long for work to be over so that you can catch up with Em and Dex on the train home.

ONE DAY is truly wonderful book. It’s funny, sharp, moving, and inspirational. It had me in fits of laughter and inconsolable with tears. I can not find fault with it. All the characters were beautifully fleshed out and the relationships between each one of them, whether it’s Dexter and his father, Emma and her boyfriend, and of course the key relationship: Dexter and Emma, are relationships that we can all relate to – they are not elaborate or glamourous. They are real, normal and utterly compelling. ONE DAY is one of the best books I’ve read all year and if you haven’t read it yet I urge you to do so right now – just make sure you clear your diary and have some tissues to hand!

5/5

ONE DAY is available in paperback now

Check out the website HERE for some great videos and podcasts

